Board Members

Bill Haskell

The principle responsibility of the Commodore is to ensure regulatory compliance and to foster the ongoing development and vitality of the Club for current and future members. Bill has respectfully held the position of  Commodore for many years and is also the Club’s Licensee.

Bill sails regularly on Good Life II and represents the Club in international races such as PacRim.

Phone: 0408 670 715

Vice Commodore:
Rick Pacey

Responsible for the setting, administration and conduct of the club’s sailing programme.  Rick is an experienced sailor across differing boat types and classes, including offshore, coastal and regular competition in state and national regattas.

Rick is currently a co-owner and skipper of ‘Elusive’ and also brings an extensive corporate, business and project management background to the club.

Phone: 0417 544 230

Rear Commodore:
David Simm

Responsible for the organising and supervising the maintenance of the Club premises, ensuring its compliance with relevant authorities, liaising with Council on issues affecting the Club premises and is the Club’s representative on the Soldiers Point Management Plan Committee.

David is the owner / skipper of ‘Chilli’.

Phone: 0412 682 167

Club Captain:
Alan Richards

Acts as the Safety Audit Officer, assists in conducting Equipment Audits, sits on the Race Committee, responsible for the Club moorings and rounding marks, and assisting the Vice Commodore with preparation of the Race Programme, Notices of Race, Sailing Instructions, Race Courses, and other race related documentation.

Alan is an experienced sailor on a wide range of yachts and actively sails his joint owned Etchells ‘Broomstick’. Alan is a shipwright by trade but is currently working as a work health and safety consultant, which adds high value to his role on the Board.

Phone: 0418 557 749

Marina Budisavljevic

Responsible for distributing information and notices to all members, editor of the monthly newsletter “The Bilge”, manages the website, attends to all correspondence, ensures practices of the Club are in line with the Constitution, coordinates social functions, and prepares the agenda and minutes for Board Meetings. Marina is also assisting with the membership, sponsorship and publicity of the Club.

Marina sails on ‘She’s The One’ and is a keen ambassador for women in sailing. Marina brings value to the Board from her professional experience as an urban/environmental planner.

Phone: 0404 126 962

Honorary Treasurer:
Ann Evans

Ensures regulatory and statutory requirements are adhered to with regard to taxation, ASIC, insurances, is responsible for all banking and payments, undertakes/supervises stock take, prepares all accounting records, financial statements and reports for internal and external review and audits.

Ann is the Club’s Honorary Treasurer and brings a wealth of experience both as a Chartered Accountant and as Treasurer of several other not-for-profit organisations.

Phone: 0438 295 246

Ken Peachey

As Race Officer, Ken is responsible for managing ‘SAIL100’, the Club’s race management system including the on going review of handicaps and the production of race results.

Ken is owner / skipper of ‘Una Vita’ and a member of the Race Committee.

Phone: 0413 651 369

Michael Kirby

Michael is taking on responsibility for helping to develop growth in Club member numbers.  He brings valuable experience to the Board particularly with his extensive knowledge of real estate, property matters and business management.

Micheal is owner / skipper of ‘She’s The One’.

Phone: 0423 792 829

Steve Plante

Steve is responsible for the maintenance of the Club’s rounding marks and moorings alongside the Club Captain.

He and his wife Judy moved up to Port Stephens just in 2016 having retired in Sydney and Steve has been sailing competitively since 2000 and is owner / skipper of ‘Twitcher’.

Phone: 0477 417 968